1956 -- not sure of the model

You inherited your uncle's Thompson and now you want to know more about it.

Moderators: a j r, TDockside, Miles, Moderators

DFR

1956 -- not sure of the model

Post by DFR »

Good morning,

Yesterday we finally got my father-in-law's Thompson down from the garage where it had been hanging upside down for 30+ years. There is a Peshtigo builder's plate on the dash without a serial number and the OBC plate is missing. The hull ID on the transom is G60801S which I think I know from reading other posts means somebody with initial G was in charge of the boat and this was the 801st boat produced in 1956 -- I know it is not a 1966 because we have family photos with the boat pictured in them from 1957. The centerline length is 15' 0" and the maximum beam is 5' 7" (67").

Three questions to start with: 1) What is the model of this boat? Is it a Sea Skiff? Perhaps that is what the S stands for in the hull ID? 2) I am brand new to power boats (canoes, kayaks, and small sailboats are where I have "been" in the boating sense), and I have a question about the outer keel piece that covers the seam between the garboards. On this boat it ends a couple feet before the transom and it looks like a piece of aluminum with lots of goop covers the seam from that point to the aft end of the boat. Is this as originally designed and constructed? It doesn't look like my father-in-law did much other than paint the hull and add a folding back to the bench seat. Which brings up question: 3) Do photos or drawings exist of what the original interior of these boats looked like fresh from the factory? Looking around on the web it sure seems like there was a lot of variation even within a single design.

Thanks for your help. Here are a couple photos that might help with identification. I sure am looking forward to the Thompson show next summer at the Wisconsin Maritime Museum.

Dennis

LancerBoy

Post by LancerBoy »

Hello Dennis and welcome aboard,