New Member First Restoration

You inherited your uncle's Thompson and now you want to know more about it.

Moderators: a j r, TDockside, Miles, Moderators

THE LAKE

New Member First Restoration

Post by THE LAKE »

Hello, Just joined today and am excited about gathering information to use in my 1st restoration effort. I am still learning the proper names for things, so forgive me if I misname something. I recently purchased a Cruiser's Inc runabout. The owner stated it was a 1965. The registration states it is 19ft, but I believe it to be 18ft. It has blue vinyl coated canvas on all of the weather surfaces and had curtains that covered the interior hull sides. The windshield assembly is wood as is the front seat with storage cabinets behind each seatback. The pictures I've seen of restored boats like this one had a rear bench seat. Mine does not. I bought it for $500 with a running Johnson 100hp Golden Meteor motor and a serviceable trailer. The trailer needs to have blast and paint and rewiring. I've already replaced the tires and tubes and packed the bearings. The boat itself is in good shape (No, I didn't have it surveyed) there is no rot or even soft places in the hull. The primary areas of concern for wooden restoration are the windshield assembly, the rear bench seat and the top of one of the front seat storage cabinets. The steering wheel is frozen in place and the dash panels have seen better days. Lastly, I have one Cruiser's Inc hull emblem in poor condition and the one on the dash is not very good either. So I'd say I've got my work cut out for me. I have tried in vain to find the hull number but so far no luck. Perhaps it is behind the bilge pump which is bolted to the inner transom on the Stbd side.
THE LAKE

Post by THE LAKE »

I had intended in my initial post to ask if anyone knew if this boat has a model name and especially if anyone else on the forum owns one.
LancerBoy

Post by LancerBoy »

Welcome aboard!