1959 Sea Coaster-Motor HP/weight

Suggestions, concerns, and what is the correct power plant for your Thompson.

Moderators: a j r, TDockside, Miles, Moderators

Brad Rohloff

1959 Sea Coaster-Motor HP/weight

Post by Brad Rohloff »

I'm new to the Thompson boat ownership group. Have been looking for a good used newer outboard for the boat and wondering how big I can go. The tag on the boat says maximum 75 HP. I would like a 50 to 70 HP, 1990 or newer two stroke. I've found an Evinrude 60 HP, 1989 on Ebay, it weighs 250 #. Is this too much motor for the boat? The transom and entire boat has been restored and in very good condition.
Thanks!
LancerBoy

Post by LancerBoy »

Probably just fine. A 1960 OMC 75 HP must weigh about 250#

Andreas
Brad Rohloff

Post by Brad Rohloff »

Thanks Andreas,
I've read that these boats can be somewhat sensitive to excess weight in the transom and didn't want to over do it. With the battery and fuel tank the transom weight could easily hit 300 lbs. I would like to be able to pull a skier with three people in the boat so the added HP will be helpfull.
W Guy

Post by W Guy »

My '60 Sea Coaster is rated for a max of 70hp. You're '59 is 75hp???? Maybe they down-sized the '60??? Mine is 15' 10". My 50hp motor is 210# and the transom is low in the water.

Verne :roll:
LancerBoy

Post by LancerBoy »

Maybe the different Thompson boat firms had different ratings: Thompson Bros. Boat Mfg. Co. and Thompson Boat Company of New York, Inc.

Which firm made this boat?

Andreas
Brad Rohloff

Post by Brad Rohloff »