My "new" Thompson boat

You inherited your uncle's Thompson and now you want to know more about it.

Moderators: a j r, TDockside, Miles, Moderators

Hyyr2000

My "new" Thompson boat

Post by Hyyr2000 »

Greetings, everyone, from a first-time poster (and boat owner).

I sincerely hope my boat is appropriate for this forum, as it is a more recent model year (& fiberglass hull as well) as most I've seen here.

I very recently purchased a 1985 Thompson 20' stern-drive (I/O) cuddy boat. I got the boat, trailer, and some accessories but absolutely no documentation on the vessel. As a technician, I know the importance of good documentation, so this was the first thing I went looking for. Of course, as you all know (and as I found out) this isn't so simple. I am even unsure of the exact model name of the boat, as it was listed only as a "1985 20' Thompson Cuddy".

According to the metal plate located by the engine throttle, it is a "Model 229 I/O Series". Made by Thompson Boat Company, Saint Charles, MI. Google searching on the web failed to turn up any info on this boat (other than this website), or any pics of what the boat may have looked like new. 1985 seems to be a transitional year for Thompson from the company histories I've read.

The sterndrive is a Mercruiser 3.7 liter (seems to be rather a large displacement for a 4 cylinder engine). The boat has dual fuel tanks and a small head. The boat cargo capacity (according to the plate) is rated maximum at "9 persons or 1650 Lbs". The previous owner said that fully loaded this boat weighed in at just over 4,000 lbs, which seems rather a lot to me. Could this be correct?